Haying. Yuck.

Every year I try to convince myself that haying is not so bad. Just once a year and then it’s mostly over. But you know…. I freaking HATE haying season. My back is aching, my thighs are sore, my sinuses are blocked, and I am covered in little red scratchy bumps. I am however clean now after a truly rapturous soak in my clawfoot bathtub.

If I ever win the lottery, it’s not going to be boats, and cars, and fancy toys that I spend money on first. It’s going to be a hayloft full of an entire year’s worth of premium hay stacked by a bunch of strong young guys. I will sit in a lawn chair and sip iced tea with my feet up and watch.

In the meantime… back to haying tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Haying. Yuck.

  1. Michelle says:

    Blah, I’m with ya, Deanna. Gosh I hate hay season! And its always so HOT and HUMID putting up hay, combined with a hay loft, and the itchy red bumps. I’ve gotten to the point now where I have to wear a mask, I can’t breath for days afterward and my lungs burn from the dust. So that makes it twice as hot when you are breathing in one of those masks.

    Like

    • Oh yeah… gross. I’ve tried those masks and I really can’t breathe in them. But it definitely would be better if I could… I’ve been coughing since last night and can’t seem to get my lungs cleared out.

      Like

Leave a comment