Getting the Settings

I got a new camera recently. It is a Samsung NX1000, which is what is known as a “compact system camera” or “mirrorless camera”.  Although much smaller, it is sort of like a DSLR in that it has interchangeable lenses, manual and automatic settings, and takes much better photos than a point and shoot camera. Well… it is capable of taking better photos anyway. It’s not going to do that until I get a bit more of a handle on how to use it. And, let’s face it, until I get better glasses so I can see when it’s actually in focus!  (Man, I hate getting old. )

I got the camera just before I went to Florida. So I took it with me. But I am used to my little pocket camera that charges from my laptop. And I assumed that I could do the same thing with the Samsung. And I left the charger at home.  The battery did last all the way to Florida amazingly. But died on the second day there.  Whereupon I discovered what a dumbass I’d been to leave the charger behind.  But I did get one or two quite nice photos with it in those few days.

Once I got home, got the camera recharged, and read the manual, I started taking some photos around here with it. I’m still learning, but getting there. We had quite an ice storm over Christmas. The power was out for three days in my house, and for eight days on the rest of the farm. The ice was rather magical to look at. But trying to negotiate it with a camera in hand was very precarious.  And it sure did wreak havoc on the trees and the plumbing.

Jimi – my border collie

Diego in silhouette

Venice (Woizero)

Venice (Woizero)

King

King

Comical as usual

Comical as usual

Diego. Handsome in purple.

Diego. Handsome in purple.

Venice in winter mist

Venice in winter mist

Diego

Diego

Sundog

Ice on the Weeping Willows

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

jimi

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

7 thoughts on “Getting the Settings

  1. Wow, these photos are incredible!

    Like

  2. Erin Wheeler says:

    I love the snow pictures!

    Like

  3. Mary says:

    Just found your blog and was greeted with these nice pictures:) I think photography can add a lot to blog, for sure! Looking forward to reading (and seeing!) more in the future!

    -Mary
    http://www.simplyhorsecrazy.com

    Like

  4. Lauren Allen says:

    Great photos! Photography is definitely something that takes time to learn but you have a really good eye for it!

    Like

  5. Wow that looks great!!! I was always wondering if mirrorless cameras could have at least comparable quality pics to DSLRs but these are really a good proof of it!

    Like

  6. You are off to a great start, these photos look great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

