Learning to Drive

I’m getting a bit antsy with all this enforced idleness. So today I thought I’d teach Diego to ground drive. He lunges reasonably well, so it’s not a particularly big step to move to long reins. He was very happy to see me coming with the halter. Practically piaffing in glee as a matter of fact. Helpfully jammed his nose into the halter before I had it unbuckled. I think perhaps he’s been getting bored too.

After lungeing him for a few minutes, I had Veronica come in and hold him for me while I set up the reins and got him used to them draping around him. Then I had her lead him forward for one lap around the round pen while I walked behind gently moving the lines around his hindquarters a bit. He was totally unconcerned and very happy. So we carried on by ourselves. He was a little unsure at first, and at one point he tried to turn and face me in confusion. But he was easily convinced to move on ahead. After that he marched around like a pro. He was very attentive and kept his attention very focused on me and what I was asking. It was a great first session.

Ummm.... What do you want me to do?

Ummm…. What do you want me to do?

Which way do I go?

Which way do I go?

Really? Are you sure?

Really? Are you sure?

Like this?

Like this?

Oh okay, this is easy!

Oh okay, this is easy!

My gosh, I am a clever a horse!

My gosh, I am a clever a horse! (not to mention handsome!)

3 thoughts on “Learning to Drive

  1. Linda says:

    He looks to be so happy and pleased with himself, very cute fellow.

    Like

  2. I like the progression in photographs–he starts very unsure and hollowed out but you can actually see the change in his acceptance of the lines and the driver behind him as he goes on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

