Orphan Baby

Freckles’ colt is doing very well. He doesn’t have a name yet, so I’m just calling him “the Kid”.

He eats like a… well… a horse. He just keeps sucking back bottle after bottle. There was never one moment of hesitation from him about what it was or how to operate it. We stuck that bottle in his mouth and he downed it. No problem. I expect we’ll be able to switch him to a bucket quite easily. When he’s hungry he lets us all know at top volume.

The vet did not encourage the idea of a nurse mare. He has seen a lot of problems getting mares to accept an orphan and doesn’t think it’s worth the risk. So yesterday afternoon, Linda drove me home and I walked my pony, Nikita, back to the farm to be his companion. It’s around 2.5 miles. Nikita hasn’t done a lick of work for a couple of years, and she’s a teeny bit lazy. So we started out with her doing a little dancing trot beside me. Ears perked. Looking too cute for words. She’s 14.1hh, black, with a long thick mane and tail. About a mile and a half down the road, I think she must’ve gotten tired. Because she just totally deflated. Whoomph. “Holy cow” she tells me “how far are we going? I’m not an endurance pony you know!”

At the farm, we got her set up in a temporary stall outside the foal’s stall. She was a bit scared of him at first. I don’t think she’s ever seen a baby before. She made faces at him, and nipped him once. But since then she’s gotten steadily friendlier to him. He loves her already. When she moves off to the side of the door and gets out of his sight, he worries and calls to her. So we are all hopeful that it will work out. With any luck, she’ll help to socialize him to horses, and not so much to people. And teach him manners when he gets a bit older and ruder (as boys do).

The other two foals are also doing very well. Exclusive’s filly is amazingly smart and physically very agile. She’s not overly big. But she was up before the mare after she was born, and was able to trot a few steps within a few minutes after getting up. Within 24 hours, she was trotting and cantering laps around her napping mother in the stall. This morning she was practicing her bucking (the boss was especially happy to hear that). And this afternoon she was working on her flying lead changes. By tomorrow I’m sure we’ll see the first stages of piaffe.

The chestnut colt is very leggy and is a lot handsomer than the first photos show. But I must admit he’s not quite so smart as the other two. We have trouble getting him to go anywhere with his mother. There’s quite a bit of foal wrestling to get him to move along. Bernice, his mother, is not quite so obnoxious as she was the first day. So I’ve stopped calling her rude names.

3 thoughts on “Orphan Baby

  1. Kelly says:

    I am happy to hear the foals are doing well. That’s a good story about Nikita.

    Like

  2. Dom says:

    I am so very sorry to hear about your loss. I was away for the weekend and just got caught up. RIP, beautiful girl. Keeping the colt in my thoughts. I’ve seen orphans grow up very successfully with few bumps along the way. Here’s hoping this one’s the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

